The Department aims to develop core strength in statistical theory and in the development of statistical methods. The Department has a strongly interdisciplinary flavor with existing collaborations in medical imaging, astrostatistics, and network topography. In addition, the department also includes six joint appointments from Economics, Public Health, Sociology and Computer Sciences. These faculty members contribute by serving as dissertation committee members for Statistics graduate students, collaborating in departmental research programs and teaching Statistics courses.

Faculty Emeriti Profiles

Lecturers Profiles

Faculty

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
Veronica BerrocalAssociate Professorvberroca@uci.edu(949) 824-8608DBH 2026
Mine DogucuAssistant Professor of Teachingmdogucu@uci.edu(949) 824-5679DBH 2204
Daniel GillenProfessor and Chairdgillen@uci.edu(949) 824-9862DBH 2038 / DBH 2226
Michele GuindaniProfessormichele.guindani@uci.edu(949) 824-5968DBH 2232
Vladimir MininProfessor; Vice Chair of Undergraduate Affairs, Statisticsvminin@uci.edu(949) 824-2390DBH 2068
Bin NanProfessornanb@uci.edu(949) 824-2954DBH 2066
Tianchen QianAssistant Professortiancq1@uci.edu –DBH 2019
Annie QuChancellor’s Professoraqu2@uci.edu(949) 824-9070DBH 2212
Babak ShahbabaProfessor & UCI Chancellor’s Fellow; Vice Chair of Graduate Studies, Statisticsbabaks@uci.edu(949) 824-0623DBH 2212
Weining ShenAssistant Professorweinings@uci.edu(949) 824-9795DBH 2206
Hal SternChancellor’s Professorsternh@uci.edu(949) 824-1568DBH 2216
Yaming YuAssociate Professoryamingy@uci.edu(949) 824-7361DBH 2228
Zhaoxia YuAssociate Professoryu.zhaoxia@uci.edu(949) 824-0491DBH 2214

Emeriti

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
Wesley O. JohnsonProfessor Emerituswjohnson@ics.uci.edu –DBH 2032
Jessica UttsProfessor Emeritusjutts@uci.edu –DBH 2032

Joint Faculty

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
Pierre BaldiDistinguished Professorpfbaldi@uci.edu(949) 824-5809DBH 4038 
Scott BartellProfessorsbartell@uci.edu(949) 824-5919AIRB 2032
Carter ButtsProfessorbuttsc@uci.edu(949) 824-8591SSPA 2145
Matthew HardingProfessorharding1@uci.edu(949) 824-1511SSPB 3207
Ivan JeliazkovAssociate Professorivan@uci.edu(949) 824-1581SSPA 3175
Stephan MandtAssistant Professormandt@uci.edu(949) 824-6753DBH 4072
Padhraic SmythChancellor’s Professorsmyth@ics.uci.edu(949) 824-2558DBH 4216
Erik SudderthProfessorsudderth@uci.edu(949) 824-8169DBH 4206
Joachim VandekerckhoveAssociate Professorjoachim@uci.edu(949) 824-5958SBSG 2324

Lecturers

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
David ArmstrongLecturerdsarmstr@uci.edu(949) 824-6753DBH 2241
Brigitte BaldiLecturerbaldib@uci.edu(949) 824-1912DBH 2208
Koko GulesserianLecturer, UCI Department of Statisticssgulesse@ics.uci.edu –DBH 2056
Lee KuceraLecturerlkucera@uci.edu –DBH 2048