The Department aims to develop core strength in statistical theory and in the development of statistical methods. The Department has a strongly interdisciplinary flavor with existing collaborations in medical imaging, astrostatistics, and network topography. In addition, the department also includes nine joint appointments from Economics, Public Health, Sociology and Computer Sciences. These faculty members contribute by serving as dissertation committee members for Statistics graduate students, collaborating in departmental research programs and teaching Statistics courses.

Faculty Emeriti Profiles

Faculty

Name Title Email Phone# Location
Veronica Berrocal Associate Professor vberroca@uci.edu (949) 824-8608 DBH 2026
Mine Dogucu Assistant Professor of Teaching mdogucu@uci.edu (949) 824-5679 DBH 2204
Daniel Gillen Chancellor’s Professor and Chair dgillen@uci.edu (949) 824-9862 DBH 2038 / DBH 2226
Michele Guindani Professor michele.guindani@uci.edu (949) 824-5968 DBH 2232
Vladimir Minin Professor; Vice Chair of Undergraduate Affairs, Statistics vminin@uci.edu (949) 824-2390 DBH 2068
Bin Nan Professor nanb@uci.edu (949) 824-2954 DBH 2066
Tianchen Qian Assistant Professor tiancq1@uci.edu  – DBH 2019
Annie Qu Chancellor’s Professor aqu2@uci.edu (949) 824-9070 DBH 2212
Babak Shahbaba Professor & UCI Chancellor’s Fellow; Vice Chair of Graduate Studies, Statistics babaks@uci.edu (949) 824-0623 DBH 2212
Weining Shen Associate Professor weinings@uci.edu (949) 824-9795 DBH 2206
Hal Stern Chancellor’s Professor sternh@uci.edu (949) 824-1568 DBH 2216
Yaming Yu Associate Professor yamingy@uci.edu (949) 824-7361 DBH 2228
Zhaoxia Yu Associate Professor yu.zhaoxia@uci.edu (949) 824-0491 DBH 2214

Emeriti

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
Wesley O. JohnsonProfessor Emerituswjohnson@ics.uci.edu –DBH 2032
Jessica UttsProfessor Emeritusjutts@uci.edu –DBH 2032

Joint Faculty

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
Pierre BaldiDistinguished Professorpfbaldi@uci.edu(949) 824-5809DBH 4038 
Scott BartellProfessorsbartell@uci.edu(949) 824-5919AIRB 2032
Carter ButtsProfessorbuttsc@uci.edu(949) 824-8591SSPA 2145
Matthew HardingProfessorharding1@uci.edu(949) 824-1511SSPB 3207
Ivan JeliazkovAssociate Professorivan@uci.edu(949) 824-1581SSPA 3175
Stephan MandtAssistant Professormandt@uci.edu(949) 824-6753DBH 4072
Padhraic SmythChancellor’s Professorsmyth@ics.uci.edu(949) 824-2558DBH 4216
Erik SudderthProfessorsudderth@uci.edu(949) 824-8169DBH 4206
Joachim VandekerckhoveAssociate Professorjoachim@uci.edu(949) 824-5958SBSG 2324

Lecturers

NameTitleEmailPhone#Location
David ArmstrongLecturerdsarmstr@uci.edu(949) 824-6753DBH 2241
Brigitte BaldiLecturerbaldib@uci.edu(949) 824-1912DBH 2208
Koko GulesserianLecturer, UCI Department of Statisticssgulesse@ics.uci.edu –DBH 2056
Lee KuceraLecturerlkucera@uci.edu –DBH 2048